Book Reviews

Book Review: On the Ropes

on-the-ropesTitle: On the Ropes

Author: Hallee Bridgeman

Length: 149 pages

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Ruth has a perfect life. She is a doctor in New York City. She has a twin sister, Ester, and is engaged to Victor Kovalev. He is a professional boxer and is expected to take over the family business after he retires. One evening, the way Victor is acting worries Ruth so she goes to his family’s gym when she gets off work. When she arrives, the gym is oddly empty. She eventually finds Victor’s father and some other men in the alley. When she hears gunshots, she knows she needs to get out of there.

Flash forward six months and Ruth lives in Florida and no one knows anything about her. Even her real name. She had to go into Witness Protection while waiting for the trial. She does her best to stay hidden in Florida. Then one day a boy volunteering at the church with her gets bit by a snake. Ruth draws on her medical knowledge and saves him. Pictures of her end up online. She asks for them to be taken down but it’s too late and the Kovalevs will be able to find her. With the trial so close she is especially worried about what would happen if she were found.

I enjoyed this book. I’m going to be honest and say that I don’t often read books specifically targeted to the Christian market. However, I thought I would give this book a chance. I enjoyed reading it. There was action and suspense which kept me reading. The plot was intriguing and I wanted to continue reading to get the full picture. The story was divided between flashbacks and present day. This made it so I had to keep reading to find out what happened originally. I’m glad it was set up this way and I don’t think the story would have been as interesting if it had been in chronological order.

The characters were believable and I found myself rooting for Ruth as I was reading. She was a strong woman who was determined to hold on to her values no matter who or what tried to stand in her way. She held onto her faith throughout the book and it made her a stronger person.

While there were definitely Christian elements to the story and God was an important part of the character’s lives, the author mostly kept the focus on the story itself which I appreciated. However, there were times where the inclusion of God seemed forced, or only there for the sake of being a Christian book.

At the end of the book I found two bonuses. There was a reader guide with discussion questions for the story. There was also a recipe section. The recipes came out of meals mentioned in the story and were based on the characters. I liked that this fun element was included.

Overall, I enjoyed reading the book. It is not the type of book I usually read but I was engaged throughout and was invested enough in the characters that I wanted to keep reading. If this is a genre you enjoy, or you are looking for something new, this is a great book to read.

If you would like to check out the book for yourself, you can find it here.

Disclosure of Material: I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through the BookCrash.com book review program, which requires an honest, though not necessarily positive, review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s CFR Title 16, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: On the Ropes

  1. I’m aware of at least one publishing house that lets writers submit their work, and their fellow readers vote on pieces until one rises to the top and the house publishes the piece. I wonder why more companies don218t use the same method. Letting readers work the slush pile would free up publishers of slush and would help ensure that good work is not rejected.

    Like

Leave a Reply

